April 06, 2017

Dr. David Julius, PhD., Chair of Physiology, has been awarded the prestigious 2017 Canada Gairdner International $100,000 prize Award for his groundbreaking Pain Research. The Department of Physiology would like to congratulate Dr. Julius on his continual success and recognition as an expert in the advancement of  science and representing the  UCSF community on a global platform. 

November 16, 2016

David Julius, PhD, chair and professor of Physiology at UC San Francisco, is the recipient of the 2017 Human Frontier Science Program Nakasone Award, which honors scientists who have made key breakthroughs in fields at the forefront of the life sciences.

September 30, 2016

UCSF Physiology Department's Dr. Zachary Knight has won the Novo Nordisk Helmholtz Young Investigator in Diabetes (HeIDi) Award.

For further details, visit the announcement and the HelmholtzZentrum homepage.

May 31, 2016

May 13, 2016 - The Physiology faculty had a phenomenal day sharing their science overlooking the beautiful views of the Pacific Ocean at the 2016 Annual Faculty Retreat at the Cliff House.

March 22, 2016

Lecture Title: “Chasing Ghosts in the Cell Cycle Machine”

October 27, 2015

Roger A. Nicoll, MD, professor in the Departments of Cellular and Molecular Pharmacology and Physiology, has been announced as the recipient of the National Academy of Sciences (NAS) Award in the Neurosciences. Nicoll is being honored for his seminal discoveries elucidating cellular and molecular bases for synaptic plasticity in the brain. The award recognizes extraordinary contributions to progress in neuroscience and comes with a $25,000 prize.

October 22, 2015

David Julius, PhD, a pioneer in sensory neurobiology, will receive the Passano Award for his groundbreaking research. Previous UCSF awardees include Nobel Prize winners Elizabeth Blackburn, J. Michael Bishop, and Harold Varmus.

For the full story read "2010 Passano Laureate & Physician Scientists"

October 22, 2015

Loren Frank, PhD, has received two honors in quick succession! He was awarded the 2013 Gill Center Young Investigator Award from Indiana University; this award is presented to a young investigator whose career to date shows extraordinary promise.

May 10, 2015

David Julius, PhD, professor and chair of the UCSF Department of Physiology, has been awarded the $1 million Shaw Prize for "his seminal discoveries of molecular mechanisms by which the skin senses painful stimuli and temperature and produces pain hypersensitivity."

For the full story read "Announcement of The Shaw Laureates 2010" and "UCSF Science Café"

June 21, 2013

David Julius, PhD, who uses natural molecules found in tarantulas and hot chili peppers to study pain, has been named the winner of the 2013 Dr. Paul Janssen Award for Biomedical Research.