October 02, 2015

Donec eu leo sem, in lacinia metus. Sed nisi lorem, consectetur eu hendrerit vel, suscipit at dolor. Proin vehicula, lacus in eleifend convallis, sem ante adipiscing enim, id molestie ipsum magna id risus. Cras sollicitudin justo nibh. Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing. Nullam urna est, tempor non tristique et, tempus quis enim. Praesent ut dui id risus eleifend fringilla. In eu urna eu nibh varius ultricies. Sed commodo nunc in diam commodo mattis. Aenean ligula ligula, faucibus in

May 10, 2015

David Julius, PhD, professor and chair of the UCSF Department of Physiology, has been awarded the $1 million Shaw Prize for "his seminal discoveries of molecular mechanisms by which the skin senses painful stimuli and temperature and produces pain hypersensitivity."

For the full story read "Announcement of The Shaw Laureates 2010" and "UCSF Science Café"

June 21, 2013

David Julius, PhD, who uses natural molecules found in tarantulas and hot chili peppers to study pain, has been named the winner of the 2013 Dr. Paul Janssen Award for Biomedical Research.

Back to Top
June 02, 2013

Professor David Morgan has made several major contributions to our knowledge of the enzymes and biochemical mechanisms that control the events of the eukaryotic cell cycle, particularly with regard to the cyclin-dependent protein kinases (Cdks). For these and related achievements, he was elected to the Royal Society.

September 24, 2009

Dr. Erik Ullian Selected as a 2009 NIH Director’s New Innovator Award Recipient

The NIH Director's New Innovator Award addresses two important goals: stimulating highly innovative research and supporting promising new investigators. As part of NIH's commitment to increasing opportunities for new scientists, it has created the NIH Director's New Innovator Award to support exceptionally creative new investigators who propose highly innovative projects that have the potential for unusually high impact.

September 07, 2009

Dr. Loren Frank to Receive 2009 Faculty Mentorship Award

The goal of this award is to recognize and show appreciation for faculty members from Basic Sciences, Nursing, Social & Behavioral Sciences or Physical Therapy who consistently provide exceptional support, both professionally and personally, to graduate students at UCSF.

Dr. Frank will receive this year's award at the Graduate Division Commencement Ceremony at the Mission Bay Community Center on May 15th.